The state of Minnesota requires anyone under the age of 18 wishing to obtain a MN Driver’s License to complete an approved course in driver education.
Classes are offered twice a year in Benson: in June and October
The fee is $325 which includes classroom instruction and 6 hours of behind the wheel lessons. A deposit of $125 is due upon registration with the remaining of $200 due when the student is ready to test for their permit.
Classroom can be done prior to being 15 years of age, but students must be at least 15 years old to take their permit test. Students must be on time and attend all classes. One make up session per student is allowed. For every absence thereafter, the student will be charged $40 per session.
After classroom instruction is complete, students that are 15 years of age can schedule their appointment to take their written test. If balance is due, this must be paid and their "blue" card will be given. This is taken to the DMV when taking the written test.
Behind the Wheel
Behind the Wheel instruction includes 6 hours of time with the Driving Instructor. It will take place in the school's Driver Education car. It is recommended that the first hour is scheduled at least three weeks after the student receives their permit. The last week of driving will be scheduled the week of or before the student is scheduled to take their driving test.
Students are responsible for scheduling driving time with the instructor. For "no shows" of scheduled driving time, the student will be charged $25.00 per hour unless a 12 hour notification is given to the instructor.
Students are required by MN law to complete 50 hours of driving time (with 15 of those hours at night). These hours must be recorded on a state-approved Supervised Driving Log and presented at the road test. This log can be found here:
Appointments for the driving exam can be scheduled no more than 6 months prior to the student's 16th birthdate. Once the 6 hours of driving time has been completed, the student will receive their "white" card to be taken with them to the DMV to take their road test.
To schedule your permit or road test, go to:
Farmer's permits are available for students aged 15 years old who have successfully completed a Drivers Education course and whose family is active in farming. The student must have successfully passed their permit test, have completed the 40-50 hours of parent driving time and the 6 hours of behind the wheel with the instructor.
The parent must call the Minnesota Department of Public Safety to schedule the driving test at 651-201-7900. The parent must also complete a Farm Work License Affidavit , present a property tax statement and/or a rental agreement and a signed letter.
With a farm permit, student may only drive to perform work for the farm, during daylight hours, within 20 miles of the farmhouse and in cities with a population of less than 100,000 people.